ulta birthday haul!

ulta birthday haul!

This blog is my new excuse to buy makeup.

As I celebrated my 18th birthday (ahhhhh), I took some fun money I received and went to the mothership- I mean Ulta. Coincidentally, I was running out of a lot of products, and was excited to try some new ones. I have used each product at least once now, so a little blurb of a first impression is included, as well.

1. Maybelline Fit Me! Dewy + Smooth Foundation

You guys! I DID IT. I matched my skin tone on the first purchase of a drugstore foundation! I’m so proud of myself. Anyways, I really love this foundation so far. It doesn’t emphasize my dry areas and is a very light formula with medium coverage. And it has sunscreen! That’s always a plus. It gets the job done, and it will replace my L’Oréal Infallible Pro-Matte.

2. Maybelline Fit Me! Concealer

This is round two of trying to match my skin tone with this concealer, and I got it right this time. I’ve been using this concealer for about 2 months now, and it is a good, affordable dupe for Urban Decay’s Naked concealer (in my opinion). It’s easy to blend, doesn’t crease, and lasts as long as I need it to.

3. L’Oréal Infallible Blend Artist Foundation Blender

I love love love how soft and squishy this sponge is! The curve in the sponge makes it easy to hold on to, and makes applying foundation a breeze. I highly reccomend giving this one a try.

4. Essence Lash Princess Mascara

If you follow me, you’ve probably read about my hunt for the perfect mascara. I found it, and it was $4.99. I watched Rachhloves talk about this on her YouTube channel, so when I saw it at Ulta I decided to give it a try instead of Benefit’s Roller Lash to save some money. All I really need is one swipe to have instantly long, voluminous, not-too-dramatic lashes. It doesn’t crumble, it holds all day, and is five dollars.

5. L’Oréal Magic Perfecting Base

I saw Jeffree Star use this in a video against a super expensive primer, and it earned his stamp of approval. I was out of my primer, and noticed my old one wasn’t doing a good job of blurring my pores. I’m not particularly sold on this base yet. It’s pretty heavy, and I feel slightly oiler than usual when I wear it. However, everything looks flawless. After about 2 weeks of using this, I’ll publish a review.

6. Maybelline Vivid Matte Liquid

I purchased the shade “possessed plum”. It’s the perfect vampy color for my fair skin! Because it’s darker, it does take two layers, but it does so without a fuss. It’s movable, stays put, and doesn’t dry me out. That’s all I could ask for from a matte liquid lipstick! I gave a friend two of the lighter shades for Christmas, and they love the formula, too.

7. NYX Matte Bronzer 

The struggle to find a good bronzer without cosmetic glitter is real. My whiteness leads me to using bronzer as a contour shade. This one’s a little more orange than what I wanted, but the formula is great! It’s easy to blend which is a huge bonus in my book. I’ll use it until I hit pan, then let the hunt begin all over again.

Last, but not least…

8. Revolution Vivid Baked Highlighter

I am obsessed. I generally prefer subtle glows over the bam! in your face blinding highlight, but this shade has me sold. This is shade “golden lights” and is extremely pigmented. I use a small highlighting brush on the tops of my cheekbones, and the glow is real. The forumila isn’t dusty, and doesn’t get shimmer where you don’t want it to go. If you love saving a buck or two, try out this highlight!

And that’s it! I hope you enjoyed. If you use any of these products, let me know! I love talking with y’all. Until next time, beauty beans.

2 thoughts on “ulta birthday haul!

  1. Thanks for linking your blog such a good read! I struggle to find bronzer with out glitter too (WHY DO THEY WANT US TO SPARKLE??) lol wait for my next post because I may have gotten more things with gift cards from my aunt lol 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

