makeup review: maybelline lash sensational mascara

makeup review: maybelline lash sensational mascara

I want my lashes long enough to view them from space. 

I live on the coast of California, so the main social event on weekends is something beach-oriented. Last summer, I despised wearing more than a bathing suit and sunscreen at the beach. However, since I cut my hair short, I look like a boy without makeup. I settled with wearing a waterproof mascara on my beach days.

…But I didn’t previously use waterproof mascara. I found them hard to take off, and never really had a need for them.

The first one I stumbled upon at CVS was Maybelline’s Lash Sensational. I wanted it to be obvious I was wearing mascara, and my usual mascara didn’t come in a waterproof formula (or was sold out that day) and provides more of a natural look. 

I was looking for a large wand that would flare out my lashes, and this particular wand fit the bill.

Wave proof. Cry proof. Shower proof. Life proof. 

However, the formula is not oil proof. Typically when people buy a long-lasting mascara, they complain when there are still black crumbles at the end of the day. That’s because of oily skin! If you have oily skin, find a better eye primer so your mascara is not affected. This works out for me since I use coconut oil to remove my makeup.

This formula stays. It not only stays on your lashes, but holds shape all day. I put it on at around 7 in the morning, and take it off at around 9 at night. It always looks the same.

My lashes gain volume and length, and there’s a dramatic flare of my outer lashes. It’s like a cartoon character’s eyelashes appear! Dramatic, yet not comparable to a pair of falsies. 

Makeup components are not to be ignored. 

The formula is remarkable. The wand does the job. The actual tube itself is the issue.

You know that tight area near the top of the tube that gets excess product off of the mascara wand? Lash Sensational’s tube has a wider opening.

You can still hear the pop! of the wand coming out of the tube, but product is still clumped around the tightlining bristles. This causes me to remove the leftover clumps on the bristles by scraping it on the rim of the tube, forming a mess of black smudges on my fingers.

Pet peeves aside…

This product’s claims on waterproof formula and volume of lashes are valid! The one tiny problem of the component will not keep me from purchasing this mascara again.

4.5 Beans out of 5

2 thoughts on “makeup review: maybelline lash sensational mascara

Leave a Reply

