what i look for in makeup products

what i look for in makeup products

I mean, makeup is makeup and I’ll take what I can get. But if I have a choice…

Welcome to another Thursday post! You can think of this one as a pre-haul post, since I have a mental checklist for each category of product when I go makeup shopping. Enjoy!

Primers

If you’ve been following me, you’ll know that I hate cosmetic glitter in my primer (cough, NEUTROGENA) I prefer a silicone feel, and something that can go all over my face. Filling in pores are a must. I’m also not opposed to SPF considering my pasty whiteness. 

Foundation

Sigh. I haven’t found the perfect one yet. I want one that dries down with a dewy finish and does not oxidize right away. It also needs to be blendable- no streaks or blotchiness! Added bonus if the foundation has SPF. Maybelline Fit Me! Dewy + Smooth checks all the boxes except it doesn’t dry down. *single tear*

Concealer

Full coverage, blendable, and doesn’t crease. Simple as that. Urban Decay Naked Skin has my heart, but for now I’m using Maybelline Fit Me! as a dupe. 

Setting Powder

I want a powder that is translucent, finely milled, and does not clump up on contact with my foundation or concealer. Does setting powder have SPF? Sign me up for that. Laura Mercier and Kat Von D have great translucent powders!

Bronzer

MATTE. NO GLITTER. Not too orange-y, but not gray either. I also prefer powders over creams. 

Blush

I also try to have a matte blush so my pores are not emphasized. Nars “Orgasm” would be a perfect shade for me if it were matte. I prefer lighter, nude pinks (such as “Tea Rose” from Milani) as opposed to hot Barbie pink. I would like a blendable cream, but every so often a powder catches my attention. 

Highlight

A subtle, golden glow will be chosen over a blinding obscure color. This is all up to the level of shine a highlighter gives, I have no preference over creams or powders. 

Eyeliner

I look for Kat Von D. That is the only liquid liner for me. I love the brush tip, the pigmentation, and the product’s longevity. For a pencil, I think that any pencil liner gets the job done. I’ve never used gel, so I have no input on that type of eyeliner. (Should I try it? Comment below!)

Mascara

Preferably, this won’t be waterproof. I also look for synthetic bristles on a curved wand  (with the exception of Essence Lash Princess, which is the polar opposite). If the formula flakes, it’s gotta go!

Eyeshadow

Nudes, buttery powders, blendable, easy to use with synthetic brushes. A review of NYX’s Wicked Eyes palette is coming soon!

Setting Spray

I want a fine mist with a matte factor. Doesn’t have to be high end, but honestly they work best in my experience. Elf’s is great (but MAC is better).

There we have it, my pre-haul mentality! I hope you enjoyed. Do we look for the same products? Don’t be afraid to start a conversation below. Until next time, beans!

Leave a Reply

